One question decides it.
Nobody reads the policy until they need it, and by then one line matters: how the claim is paid. A price comparison will never tell you which kind you bought.
Direct billing
- Hospital
- Insurer
The hospital invoices the insurer. You show a card and sign. 10 of 138 rows state it.
Reimbursement
- Hospital
- You
- Insurer
You pay the bill, keep every receipt, file a claim and wait. Most of the complaints further down start here. 2 rows state it, and 7 state both, depending on the treatment or the network.
- 10 direct billing
- 7 both, depending on treatment or network
- 2 reimbursement
- 119 not stated
119 of 138 rows do not say how a claim is paid. A provider that will not say is telling you something. Ask before you pay.
Start with your situation, not a ranking.
There is no best travel insurance. There is the one that fits where you are going, for how long, on which passport, at what age and with what you already carry. Six common situations, and where the plan rows point for each.

Outside the US · 3 to 12 months · US passport
Thirty-five, a US passport, three months in Madrid
Outside the US the passport barely matters. How the claim is paid does.
Watch for: Flying home for the holidays turns this into the next situation.
Check this case- GenkiTraveler can be bought after you have left, on any citizenship, and states direct billing. Terms run from 1 to 12 months.
- SafetyWingEssential covers you outside your home country, and states pre-existing conditions are generally not covered.
- HeymondoThe main international row states direct billing and a zero deductible. Its age ceiling for trips of 30 days or more is 49, so at 35 it is open to you.

Including the USA · US passport
A US passport, and a trip home in the middle
The US is its own tier. The rows that mention it treat it as an add-on, a limit or a separate price.
Watch for: A row that does not mention the US is not a yes. Ask the insurer in writing.
Check this case- SafetyWingEssential states the US is not covered unless you buy the add-on, and the add-on needs a non-US citizen or resident. On a US passport, that door is shut.
- GenkiNative states 28 days of emergency-only cover in the US on its standard region, or 182 days of full cover on the half-year region that includes it. Traveler says nothing about the US.
- HeymondoThe long-stay row states worldwide cover including the USA is available, at a higher price.

A year or more
Living somewhere, not passing through
Past a year you want health insurance, not a travel policy with a renewal date.
Watch for: Health plans ask medical questions first. Both Genki Resident rows state a questionnaire.
Check this case- Cigna GlobalInternational health insurance in three tiers, with stated maximums of $1,000,000, $2,000,000 and $3,000,000. The base row states direct payment to the treatment provider in most cases.
- GenkiResident and Native are international health plans, and every Genki row states direct billing.
- HeymondoTwelve months is the longest term any Heymondo row states, so it runs out before this does.

Pre-existing conditions
Already carrying a condition
Many of the rows that mention pre-existing conditions exclude them. Read the exclusion before the price.
Watch for: Answer the medical questions in full, and keep a copy of what you sent.
See the pre-existing column- SafetyWingEssential states pre-existing conditions are generally not covered, apart from emergency treatment as the policy describes it.
- GenkiTraveler excludes anything with symptoms, a diagnosis, treatment or a consultation in the year before it starts. Resident states some conditions are covered after review and approval.
- Insured NomadsIts Connect health plans state full medical underwriting: you answer the questions, then they decide.
- True TravellerConditions must be declared, and cover for them is subject to acceptance by the insurer.

Age limits
Fifty, or well past it
Check the age ceiling before anything else. Several rows stop well short of retirement.
Watch for: Some ceilings cut the term, not the cover: Globelink states 18 months under 65 and 6 months from 66 to 74.
See the age column- HeymondoThree rows state 49 as the ceiling for longer stays.
- GenkiTraveler runs up to 69. Both Resident rows state no age limit.
- GlobelinkOne row states cover up to 89, and the Already Travelling rows run to 74.
- True TravellerTwo rows state a maximum age of 65.

Under 3 months · a booked trip
Two weeks, and the money is already spent
This is trip protection, not health cover. They are different products.
Watch for: Your card may already carry some of this. Read its benefit guide before you pay twice.
Check this case- Allianz TravelEvery Allianz row we hold is trip protection. Several state a pre-existing waiver if the policy is bought within 14 days of the first trip payment, and some add that you must be a US resident.
- World NomadsFour trip-protection rows, with little stated beyond the plan name and, on two, a deductible.
- FayeThe two Faye rows that state a payout model both state reimbursement: you pay, then claim.
Five providers, one plain verdict each.
Five that between them cover the main kinds of policy: nomad health cover, a travel medical plan, expat health insurance and trip protection. Genki leads because every Genki row states direct billing. Each card has one button out and a link to every row and source we hold.

Go to Genki(paid link)
All 5 rows and sourcesDirect billing on 5 of 5 rows
The only provider here where every plan row states direct billing.
- Best for
- Someone who does not want to front a hospital bill. Every Genki row states direct billing, and Traveler can be bought after you have already left home, on any passport.
- Not for
- Full-time life in the USA or Canada. Native states 28 days of emergency-only cover there on its standard region and 182 days on the half-year region, and the Traveler row says nothing about the US at all.
- At the claim
- Direct billing on every row. Traveler arranges it for inpatient treatment through a 24/7 assistance line.
- What people say
- Thin, and we will not dress it up. One first-person claim outcome on X, paid in three hours, plus how-to posts and a Medellin blogger who writes up the paperwork.

Go to SafetyWing(paid link)
All 7 rows and sourcesBoth on 1 of 7 rows
The easiest to buy and the most-discussed name here, with more first-person claim complaints than anything else in this capture.
- Best for
- Getting covered in five minutes from wherever you already are, and stopping it the month you stop moving.
- Not for
- A US passport holder who needs cover inside the US: the Essential row states the add-on requires a non-US citizen or resident. Also anyone carrying a condition, because the same row states pre-existing conditions are generally not covered.
- At the claim
- Not stated on the nomad rows. The only SafetyWing row that states a model is Remote Health USA: billed directly in network, claimed back out of it.
- What people say
- Mostly denials, described by the people they happened to: a medication, a cardiologist, an eight year old admitted to hospital and reclassified as chronic, flu called pre-existing. Two posts describe a claim paid, one of them in Japanese.

Go to Heymondono commission
All 9 rows and sourcesDirect billing on 2 of 9 rows
Direct billing and a zero deductible on its main international row, for a trip with an end date.
- Best for
- A trip with dates on it where you want the clinic paid directly and a person on a chat line. Two rows state direct billing, and both of those also state no medical questions.
- Not for
- Anyone over 49 staying a month or more: three separate rows state that ceiling. And anyone staying past a year, because 12 months is the longest term any Heymondo row states.
- At the claim
- Direct billing, stated on two rows, with a zero deductible stated on the main international row.
- What people say
- Split. Claims that took five weeks and a month of chasing, against a Japanese thread documenting a hospital claim paid in full and a Reddit post calling a good outcome rare.

Go to Cigna Globalno commission
All 4 rows and sourcesBoth on 1 of 4 rows
Health insurance for living abroad, in three tiers, rather than a travel policy.
- Best for
- Living somewhere rather than travelling through it. It is international health insurance in three tiers, and the base row states direct payment to the treatment provider in most cases.
- Not for
- A short trip, and anyone who wants light paperwork. The posts we hold describe member cards rejected at the desk and claims chased by email.
- At the claim
- Both, stated on the base Cigna Global row. The Silver, Gold and Platinum rows do not state a model.
- What people say
- Mixed and specific. One member describes a surgery in Panama covered and excellent care, another a medication denied with no way to log in and ask why.

Go to Allianz Travelno commission
All 11 rows and sourcesPayout not stated on any of 11 rows
Trip protection for a booked trip, and not health cover for living abroad.
- Best for
- A booked trip with money in it. The rows are trip protection, and several state a pre-existing waiver if the policy is bought within 14 days of the first trip payment.
- Not for
- Health cover while you live abroad. Not one Allianz row in this capture states a payout model, a deductible or a US medical position.
- At the claim
- Not stated on any of its rows.
- What people say
- The loudest complaint set in the capture, and nearly all of it is the claim taking months: documents re-requested, a cheque that never arrived, a small claim still open from 2024. A few posts say theirs was paid quickly.
Seven more, for narrower cases.
Providers with plan rows that fit a specific case better than a general one. Each has its own page with every row and the posts we captured.
Best for Someone who wants direct billing and will answer a medical questionnaire to get it.
Not for Anyone who wants to skip underwriting, and anyone hoping to read real claim experiences first: what we captured is mostly its own marketing.
Best for Buying a trip policy quickly, which is what most of its posts actually praise.
Not for Anyone who wants the detail before paying: all four rows state nothing beyond a plan name, and two of them a deductible.
Best for Someone matching a specific visa or student requirement. The range is wider than anything else here and some of it exists only to satisfy a form.
Not for Anyone who expects a claim to be simple.
Best for A US-based trip where the app and the add-ons are the point.
Not for Anyone who cannot wait for the money to come back.
Best for A trip into a country a normal policy excludes, and short trips: several rows state a cap of 31 days each.
Not for A long stay, and anyone over 80, which two rows state as the ceiling.
Best for A UK or EU resident buying an adventure policy who will declare conditions up front.
Not for Anyone over 65, and anyone outside its residency rules: a post in the set describes the application refusing to accept the applicant was in their own country.
Best for An older traveller on a long trip, which is the case the rest of this page quietly excludes.
Not for Anyone who wants the policy detail before buying. Two of its three rows state little beyond an age band.
Check it against your own answers.
Three questions. The five re-order on what their plan rows state, and a provider is only ruled out when every one of its rows rules you out.
Pick any answer and the five re-order on what their plan rows state. Nothing is sent anywhere: the answers live in the address bar, so you can share the result.
- GenkiDirect billing on 5 of 5 rows
- SafetyWingBoth on 1 of 7 rows
- HeymondoDirect billing on 2 of 9 rows
- Cigna GlobalBoth on 1 of 4 rows
- Allianz TravelPayout not stated on any of 11 rows
Price it at the source.
We hold no prices and print none. Genki's own calculator is the one current price on this page, and it is a paid link.
Every plan row for the five, blanks included.
Captured Aug 23, 2026 and Sep 17, 2026 from the providers' own documents. A blank is printed as not stated, because a guess is what you would be buying on. How the rows were captured and checked.
| Max cover | Deductible | Pre-existing | Medical questions | US cover | Min term | Max term | Age limits | Buy while abroad | Cancel | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Genki TravelerGenki · Source | Direct billing | €1,000,000 medical cover | Deductible options are chosen in Genki's calculator | Excluded where symptoms, diagnosis, treatment or a consultation occurred within one year before the start date | not stated | not stated | 1 month | 12 months | Up to 69 years | Any citizenship and any country of residence. Sign up from home or after you have already left. | not stated | 8 of 11 |
| Annual Multi-Trip Travel InsuranceHeymondo · Source | Direct billing | $10,000,000 USD | $250 USD | Not covered | none | not stated | 12 months | 12 months | up to 49 years old | not stated | not stated | 8 of 11 |
| Genki ResidentGenki · Source | Direct billing | unlimited | €0, €500, or €1,000 per calendar year | some are covered (only after review & approval) | questionnaire | worldwide (or limited in Canada & USA) | not stated | not stated | unlimited | not stated | not stated | 7 of 11 |
| Genki Resident PremiumGenki · Source | Direct billing | unlimited | €0, €500, or €1,000 per calendar year | some are covered (only after review & approval) | questionnaire | worldwide (or limited in Canada & USA) | not stated | not stated | unlimited | not stated | not stated | 7 of 11 |
| Heymondo International Travel InsuranceHeymondo · Source | Direct billing | 10,000,000 (currency not stated in the row) | 0 | Not covered | none | not stated | not stated | not stated | 69 years old for travels up to 29 days; 49 for 30 days or more | not stated | Dates can be changed pre-departure by contacting Heymondo. | 7 of 11 |
| Heymondo Long Stay Travel InsuranceHeymondo · Source | not stated | $2,500,000 USD | $250 USD | not stated | not stated | Worldwide coverage including USA available at higher price | 90 days | not stated | 49 years old | not stated | not stated | 5 of 11 |
| Genki Native BasicGenki · Source | Direct billing | €1,000,000 per insurance year | €0, €500, or €1,000 per insurance year | not stated | not stated | 28 days emergency only under worldwide (excluding Canada & USA) region; 182 days full coverage under worldwide (including Canada & USA half-year) region; max coverage €250,000 per insurance year | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4 of 11 |
| Genki Native PremiumGenki · Source | Direct billing | unlimited | €0, €500, or €1,000 per insurance year | not stated | not stated | 28 days emergency only under worldwide (excluding Canada & USA) region; 182 days full coverage under worldwide (including Canada & USA half-year) region; max coverage €500,000 per insurance year | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4 of 11 |
| Nomad Insurance EssentialSafetyWing · Source | not stated | $100,000 lifetime max | not stated | Generally not covered, except emergency treatment of pre-existing illness or injury as described | not stated | Not covered unless add-on purchased; add-on requires non-US citizen/resident | not stated | not stated | 14 days to 69 years | not stated | not stated | 4 of 11 |
| Remote Health USASafetyWing · Source | Both | not stated | $0 in-network; $1,000 out-of-network ($3,500 family) | not stated | not stated | Nationwide coverage in the US | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 3 of 11 |
| AllTrips ExecutiveAllianz Travel · Source | not stated | not stated | not stated | Waived if trip purchased during coverage period, policy purchased within 14 days of first trip payment, or continuous coverage. | not stated | not stated | not stated | 45 days per trip | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2 of 11 |
| AllTrips PremierAllianz Travel · Source | not stated | not stated | not stated | Waived if: 1) trip purchased during coverage period; 2) policy purchased within 14 days of first trip payment; or 3) continuous coverage with no gap >7 days. | not stated | not stated | not stated | 90 days per trip | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2 of 11 |
| AllTrips PrimeAllianz Travel · Source | not stated | not stated | not stated | Waived if trip purchased during coverage period, policy purchased within 14 days of first trip payment, or continuous coverage. | not stated | not stated | not stated | 365 days | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2 of 11 |
| OneTrip Emergency Medical PlanAllianz Travel · Source | not stated | 50,000 (currency not stated in the row) | not stated | Coverage available if purchased within 14 days of first trip payment, full trip cost insured, U.S. resident, and medically able to travel on purchase date. | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2 of 11 |
| OneTrip PremierAllianz Travel · Source | not stated | not stated | not stated | Coverage available if purchased within 14 days of first trip payment, full trip cost insured, U.S. resident, and medically able to travel on purchase date. Pre-existing condition defined as injury/illness/condition within 120 days prior to purchase date that caused treatment, symptoms, or medication. | not stated | not stated | not stated | 366 days | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2 of 11 |
| OneTrip PrimeAllianz Travel · Source | not stated | not stated | not stated | Coverage available if plan purchased within 14 days of first trip payment, full trip cost insured, U.S. resident, and medically able to travel on purchase date. Pre-existing condition defined as injury/illness/condition within 120 days prior to purchase date that caused treatment, symptoms, or medication. | not stated | not stated | not stated | 180 days | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2 of 11 |
The table is sorted with the fullest rows first, so the 20 below the fold are the ones whose policy summary states almost nothing. They are here, they are just not worth scrolling past first.
Sorted by how much the policy summary states, most first, because a row that answers ten questions is more use than one that answers two. Provider, plan and payout model sort too. The prose columns do not: sorting sentences by their first letter would look like analysis and would not be any. Every populated cell shows its source document on hover, and the Source link under each plan name opens it.
What people who filed actually say.
Posts, not reviews, quoted as written and linked. We print no sentiment score beside them: the label in our capture is a per-provider label, not a per-post one. Handles are left out.
Nomad insurance is a "patch," not a "plan." As of 2026, regulators in most popular residency hubs are cracking down on "temporary" policies. Have a provider update? If you’ve made a claim recently or have a specific 2026 tip, please comment below. This is a living document! COMMUNITY DISCLAIMER: We are not brokers. This guide reflects only our beliefs about common 2026 practices. Insurance laws...
Genki
2 of 5 quotable posts · 73 captured for Genki on Aug 23, 2026How do you file an insurance claim with Genki? 🏥 Learn how by watching me go step-by-step through the entire process
Filed a claim with Genki (nomad health insurance) today. Got payed in 3 hours. Glorious.
No Reddit thread in the capture mentions Genki with a body attached.
SafetyWing
4 of 21 quotable posts · 99 captured for SafetyWing on Aug 23, 2026Looked into it. Local cover + a specialist evac provider is stronger and better value for me. Better day-to-day care where I live, and evacuation that deploys and pays upfront, not a reimbursement model where you could be fronting a six-figure flight. Also, Safety Wing is ~$1.5k is per adult, while my numbers above are for a family of 3. Appreciate the feedback though 🙏
Been thinking about how health insurance companies serve no real purpose in the world, other than to make a profit. I'm currently fighting my insurance provider @SafetyWing for refusing to cover a hospital visit bc they say that the flu and bronchitis are preexisting conditions.
This guide is being built by the community to clarify the difference between Short-Term Travel Insurance and Long-Term Health Insurance. As of 2026, many countries have updated their visa requirements, making it essential to choose the correct type of coverage to avoid rejection. Have a better way? If you have a specific 2026 tip or a claim experience to share, please comment below! COMMUNITY...
Im looking for international health insurance (not travel insurance), as a digital nomad. I had Cigna last year but they made a reimbursement process extremely tedious, so i decided i will change this year. First time it took over a month for a very small claim (blood test), and second time i had a larger claim and it took over 3 months, with them requesting the same documents over and over and...
Heymondo
3 of 13 quotable posts · 63 captured for Heymondo on Aug 23, 2026Don't recommend @Heymondo_en for international travel insurance. I've been waiting over a month on a simple claim with zero communication. If you can't handle a straightforward claim efficiently, how can you be trusted in a real emergency? Does anyone know a reliable global travel insurance company?
This company @Heymondo_en says the average time for completion of a claim on holiday insurance is 5 WEEKS. And they only say that after a week of chasing them for an update. Appalling service, do not use them.
It's great to hear a (rare) positive outcome with insurance. Hope you made a full recovery. Happy travels.
Cigna Global
2 of 9 quotable posts · 49 captured for Cigna Global on Aug 23, 2026@Cigna Global - please help - Please hep me I need to get through to someone at Cigna Global regarding continuous incorrect application of my Cigna benefits, despite Cigna confirming that I am entitled to claim from both my Cigna GU Au policy and where the is a benefit difference
@Cignaquestions why zero customer service at cigna global?? member-card is rejected at EVERY appointment I go to as the machine won't accept it OR the number. Denied. No effort whatsoever by Cigna to fix the issue. makes doctors visits embarrassing+doctors list is out of date !!
No Reddit thread in the capture mentions Cigna Global with a body attached.
Allianz Travel
2 of 25 quotable posts · 31 captured for Allianz Travel on Aug 23, 2026Allianz Travel Insurance is a scam @Allianz here's my story. I got scratched by a monkey while traveling and needed rabies vaccines. Total cost: ~$600 in shots and doctor visits. I kept every receipt and prescription. Per their policy, this is a covered incident. That was 6 months ago. I still haven't been reimbursed. Their strategy is simple: drag it out, keep requesting documents, and hope you...
Pet Owners: Allianz doesn't consider a pet to be a family member. I cancelled my trip when my dog became ill with stage 4 renal failure, but Allianz informed me this is not a valid reason for trip cancellation. As a result, my claim was denied and no reimbursement was provided.
No Reddit thread in the capture mentions Allianz Travel with a body attached.
Before you pay anyone, in this order.
- Decide which product you need. Trip protection covers a booked trip. Health cover pays for treatment. A policy that does one is not the other.
- Ask how a claim is paid. Direct billing, reimbursement or both. If the page will not say, email the insurer and keep the answer.
- Check the US line. If you hold a US passport or will pass through, find the sentence about the US. A row that does not mention it is not a yes.
- Check the ceilings. The longest term, the oldest age, and whether you can buy after you have already left home.
- Read the pre-existing clause, and answer the medical questions in full.
- Read your card's benefit guide for the words secondary, per-trip maximum and trip length, so you do not pay twice.
- Price it on the insurer's own calculator on the day you buy. We print no prices: a premium typed last month is wrong this month.
How we built this, what we dropped and why: the methodology.
Also seen, not yet captured.
ACS Globe Partner, April International, Assist Card, Auras, AVI International, BeSafe Group, Bupa Global, Care Concept, Chapka, EKTA Traveling, Emirates Comprehensive Travel Cover, Feather, Foyer Global Health, IATI, ICICI Lombard, Medical For Nomads, Palawan ProtekTODO, PassportCard, Poncho, Post Office, Revolut, SOVENTURE, Travel Guard, TravelJoy, VisitorsCoverage, VUMI, WorldTrips Atlas Nomads. Names only and no links: a link is a recommendation, and we have read none of their policy documents yet. When a capture run reads them, they join the matrix.
Where this comes from. Plan fields captured Aug 23, 2026 from the providers' own policy documents and tables of benefits, plus one Genki Traveler row read on Sep 17, 2026. Posts captured Aug 23, 2026 from X and Reddit: 732 rows, 147 of them with a body we can quote and link. Method and filters: the methodology page.
How we get paid. Genki and SafetyWing pay us a commission if you sign up through our links, and those links are marked where they sit. Heymondo declined our application, and Cigna Global and Allianz have not approved one; all three are on this page on the same terms as the two that pay. Nobody bought a position here. Full policy: how we make money.




